Book List Theme 2

Shake, Rattle, and Roll!

Prepared By: Tina Lee and Jamie McCarthy, Burnaby Public Library

hp-green Available as an Audiobook hp-orange Available at NNELS* hp-blue Available at CELA*

* NNELS and CELA provide access to audiobooks for people with perceptual or print disabilities.


Storytime

Du Iz Tak?
by Carson Ellis (author and illustrator)
A charming and amazingly detailed picture book told strictly in bug language. A great book for new readers!
Some Bugs
by Angela DiTerlizzi (author) and Brendan Wenzel (illustrator)
A beautiful rhyming book filled with insects of all sizes and shapes. Wenzel’s illustrations are vivid and captivating.
Stack the Cats
by Susie Ghahremani (author and illustrator)
This book is wonderful for teaching children counting and math concepts such as division. The cats are colourful and cheeky.
Leap!
by JonArno Lawson (author – CA) and Josée Bisaillon (illustrator – CA)


Get hopping with this book, as one animal leaps onto the next page. An interactive and fun book that is bound to get kids jumping as you read along.
Bee & Me
by Alison Jay (author and illustrator)
As hinted in its title, Bee & Me is a wordless picture book about a girl who befriends a bee and goes on an adventure. Though slightly surreal, it works as a great introduction to conservation issues and kindness to animals.

Ages 5-8

Bees: A Honeyed History
by Piotr Socha (author and illustrator)
A scientific and engaging look at the history of bees and the work they do. This non-fiction book features engaging illustrations of bees and honey making.
Little Fox in the Forest
by Stephanie Graegin (author and illustrator)
Graegin has crafted an enchanting and whimsical wordless picture book, which encourages kindness, understanding, and sharing. The book begins when a girl loses her favourite toy fox after bringing it to school for show-and-tell, leading to a colourful voyage into the woods to find it.
Leaf
by Sandra Dieckmann (author and illustrator)
A lone polar bear finds itself in the forest and begins collecting leaves in an attempt to go home. Leaf is a beautiful and imaginative look at multiple issues, including climate change and helping others.
Worm Loves Worm
by J.J. Austrian (author) and Mike Curato (illustrator)
This book is a silly and charming take on equal rights issues and is about the many questions that come up when two worms just want to get married.

 

A Beetle Is Shy
by Dianna Hutts Aston (author) and Sylvia Long (illustrator)
A beautiful, fascinating, and rich look at all the many kinds of beetles in the world. It is a perfect book for kids who love nature and science.

Ages 9-12

Beetle Boy
by M.G. Leonard


hp-green hp-blue

Leonard has written an amusing mystery novel about a thirteen year old boy who looks to find his father with the help of a gang of beetles.
The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City
by Jodi Kendall (author)
Kendall’s debut novel is a heartfelt read-a-like for Charlotte’s Web fans. It tells the story of when a young gymnast named Josie and her large family look after a pig in their small Ohio townhouse.
The One and Only Ivan
by Katherine Applegate (author) and‎ Patricia Castelao (illustrator)


hp-green

Katherine Applegate is a master at writing heartfelt stories for animal lovers. Based on a true story, a gorilla named Ivan lives in a rundown circus. When he meets an abused baby elephant named Ruby, he wants to help her.
The Bad Guys
by Aaron Blabey (author and illustrator)
A humorous and sarcastic twist on the bad guy turned good guy cliché. It features the notorious Mr. Wolf, Mr. Piranha, Mr. Snake, and Mr. Shark. A great series for Captain Underpants fans to try.
Coyote Tales
by Thomas King (author – CA) and Byron Eggenschwiler (illustrator – CA)


Acclaimed writer Thomas King tells two witty legends about the Coyote. Coyote Tales is a funny and engaging read for beginner readers.