Book List Theme 1

On the Go!

Prepared By: Tina Lee and Jamie McCarthy, Burnaby Public Library

hp-green Available as an Audiobook hp-orange Available at NNELS* hp-blue Available at CELA*

* NNELS and CELA provide access to audiobooks for people with perceptual or print disabilities.


Mighty, Mighty Construction Site
by Sherri Duskey Rinker (author) and Tom Lichtenheld (illustrator)
Honk, honk! Beep! Beep! A team of trucks, bulldozers, cranes, cement mixers and other vehicles come together on a construction site to build a giant and complicated building. This book is told in rhyme with warm, colourful illustrations.
Last Stop on Market Street
by Matt de la Peña (author) and Christian Robinson (illustrator)


A touching look at the relationship between a boy and his grandmother, who bond during their bus rides across the city. The book features beautiful illustrations of a busy city that are reminiscent of Ezra Jack Keats’ classic picture books.
Small Walt
by Elizabeth Verdick (author) and Marc Rosenthal (illustrator)

When you’re the smallest snow plow, sometimes you get picked last, but that doesn’t mean you don’t work hard and get the job done. A cute story that’s great for reading out loud.

Bunny Bus
by Ammi-Joan Paquette (author) and Lesley Breen Withrow (illustrator)
Hop on board the bunny bus! A playful and fun story about a bunny shaped bus that picks up all the animals in town until it breaks down. A great read-a-like for Richard Scarry fans.
by Sally Sutton (author) and Brian Lovelock (illustrator)
Those who can’t get enough of construction sites should grab their safety gear and enjoy all the fun crashes, plows, smashes, and debris in this book. It features rhyming text and is very entertaining for preschoolers.


Ages 5-8

The Antlered Ship
by Dashka Slater (author) and Terry Fan and Eric Fan (illustrators – CA)

Marco, a fox, and Sylvia, a deer, set aboard a giant ship and encounter great adventures in this whimsical and beautiful book. This is a unique and enjoyable tale with skillful illustrations by the Fan brothers.
The Secret of Black Rock
by Joe Todd-Stanton (author and illustrator)
The Black Rock is a feared monster, but when Erin goes on a boat to find the legend, she soon discovers that this legendary creature is far from scary. Can she protect Black Rock from the people in her town? Todd-Stanton tells a great story about understanding with an ecological twist.
The Boy and the Airplane
by Mark Pett (author and illustrator)
This wordless picture book is about a boy and his toy plane, which after soaring high gets stuck on a roof. Pett tells a sweet and inventive story about patience.
Carson Crosses Canada
by Linda Bailey (author – CA) and Kass Reich (illustrator – CA)

Annie and her dog, Carson, go on a charming trip across Canada from BC to Newfoundland to visit her sister, Elsie. This book features fun illustrations of Canada’s unique landscape and landmarks.
A Voyage in the Clouds: The (Mostly) True Story of the First International Flight by Balloon in 1785
by Matthew Olshan (author) and Sophie Blackall (illustrator)
Olshan and Blackall take readers on an amusing journey from England to France in a hot air balloon, loosely based on real events.

Ages 9-12


Grandpa’s Great Escape
by David Walliams (author) and Tony Ross (illustrator)

hp-blue hp-green

First Walliams wrote about Gangsta Grannys, now readers can enjoy this entertaining story about a former RAF pilot who has dementia and his strong bond with his grandson.
The Boundless
by Kenneth Oppel (author)


A fantastical and historical mystery set aboard the Canadian Pacific Railway in the 19th-century. Oppel leaves the reader with a strong message about following your dreams and helping others.
The Long Haul
by Jeff Kinney (author)


Everything that could go wrong does go wrong when the always funny and chaotic Heffley family goes on a road trip. Even parents will laugh at this Diary of a Wimpy Kid novel.
by Raina Telgemeier (author)
Set during a cross-country road trip, Sisters is a popular graphic novel about two sisters who often don’t get along. Telgemeier illustrates a relatable and poignant story that won the Will Eisner Award.
Magic in the City
by Heather Dyer (author – BC) and Serena Malyon (illustrator – CA)

When two Canadian brothers move to London, they are given three objects by a street performer, including a magic carpet. With their cousin, Hannah, they encounter new adventures with the objects, including meeting the Queen. A good read for new independent readers.